Complete Guide on Shared Albums in Photos

We can share pictures with our loved ones. But if we want to share multiple photos in an album then the Shared Albums feature is best for you. Here’s a complete guide on Shared Albums in Photos.

Shared Albums are an amazing tool for sharing vacation photos with friends, honeymoon photos with a spouse or much more.

We’ll display you how to work with Shared Albums in the Photos app to make it all a bit easier.

Working with Shared Albums

  • Shared Albums on iPhone and iPad
    • Turn on Shared Albums
    • Create a blank album
    • Make an album from a photo
    • Add photos to an album
    • Invite people, get notifications, delete a Shared Album
    • Like and comment on photos
    • Delete or Remove a photo
  • Shared Albums on Mac
    • Enable Shared Albums
    • Create a blank album
    • Make an album from a photo
    • Add photos to an album
    • Invite people, get notifications, delete a Shared Album
    • Like and comment on photos
    • Remove/Delete a photo

Shared Albums on iPhone and iPad

Turn on Shared Albums

Enable Shared Albums option on your iPhone or iPad by doing the following.

Step 1:

Initially, open Settings and choose Photos.

Step 2:

Also, enable the toggle for Shared Albums.

Create a blank Shared Album

If you want to create the Shared Album first and add photos later, follow these simple steps.

Step 1:

Firstly, Photos and choose the Albums tab.

Step 2:

At the top, click the plus sign.

Step 3:

Choose a New Shared Album.

Step 4:

Assign a name to your album and click Next.

Step 5:

Click the plus sign to invite people and then click Create.

Make a Shared Album from a photo

If you have many photos that you like to create a Shared Album from, follow these steps carefully.

Step 1:

Initially, as the photo(s) selected, click the Share button.

Step 2:

Select Add to Shared Album.

Step 3:

Now Shared Album at the bottom of the pop-up and choose New Shared Album.

Step 4:

Follow these steps as above to assign name your album and invite people.

Add photos to a Shared Album

You have many ways to add photos to a Shared Album.

  • Click and hold the photo, choose Share, select Add to Shared Album, choose the album, and click Post.
  • Now open the photo, click the Share button, pick Add to Shared Album, select the album, and tap Post.
  • Also, open the album from the Albums tab, click the plus sign, choose the photos, click Done, and then Post.

Invite more people, receive notifications, or delete a Shared Album

You can also invite many people, remove people, make a public album, allow others to add photos to the album, and also receive notifications. You can also check a Shared Album if you want to. And you can do any of these things from one place on the iPhone or iPad.

Open the album from the Albums tab. Click People at the bottom and you’ll view all of these choices.

Like and comment on Shared Album photos

To like or comment on a picture that’s in a Shared Album. Simply click open the photo. At the bottom of the photo, click to Like or Add a Comment.

Delete photos from a Shared Album

To delete a photo from a Shared Album, simply open the photo in the album. Also, click Delete and confirm by clicking Delete Photo.

Make sure, removing a photo from a Shared Album erase the photo from the album. It does not remove the photo from your library.

Shared Albums on your Mac

Enable Shared Albums

Remember that you allow the Shared Albums option on your Mac.

Step 1:

Firstly, open Photos and tap Photos > Preferences from the menu bar.

Step 2:

Choose the iCloud tab.

Step 3:

At the bottom, mark the box for Shared Albums.

Create a blank Shared Album

If you like to initiate by creating the album and then add the photos to it later, follow these steps.

Step 1:

On the left, go down to Shared.

Step 2:

Next to Shared Albums, tap the plus sign.

Step 3:

In the pop-up that appears, assign your album a name, mandatory add a comment, and tap the plus sign in the Invite People section to invite contacts.

Step 4:

Tap Create.

All done!

Create a Shared Album from a photo

If you have an image that you like to create a Shared Album from, simply follow these steps.

Step 1:

Tap the Share button in the toolbar, File > Share from the menu bar, or right-tap the photo and move to Share. Choose Shared Albums.

Step 2:

Tap New Shared Album.

Step 3:

Complete the album name, an optional comment, and then add contacts to share with.

Step 4:

Tap Create.

That photo will pop into your latest album and from there you can add more images.

Add photos to a Shared Album

You have quite handy ways to add images to a Shared Album that you create.

  • Choose a photo, and then tap the Share button in the toolbar, File > Share from the menu bar, or right-tap the photo and move to Share. Also, select Shared Albums and choose the album from the list.
  • Then drag and drop photos and videos from the Photos window into the album in the sidebar.
  • Open the album by choosing in the sidebar on the left. At the top, tap Add Photos and Videos. Choose the ones you like to add and tap Add when you finish.

Invite more people, receive notifications, or delete a Shared Album

You can also invite more people to your Shared Album, erase them, or make it public so anyone can view it. You can also allow others to add pictures to the album and receive notifications when they do. And of course, you can remove a Shared Album if you want to. It can be done in one spot in Images on Mac.

Simply open the album by clicking it in the sidebar and tap the People button in the toolbar.

You’ll view all of these options in one best spot. While there, you can also modify the name of the album if you want.

Like and comment on Shared Album photos

You and other loved ones you invite can tap to Like or make a comment on an image that’s in a Shared Album. However, open the album and double-tap on a photo.

  • At the bottom of the photos, you’ll view a plus sign in a speech bubble. Move ahead and tap it.
  • Tap Like to like it or Add a Comment to input a note.

Delete photos from a Shared Album

To delete a photo from a Shared Album, just right-tap and select Delete From Shared Album. Then you’ll need to confirm this action by tapping Delete.

Removing a photo from a Shared Album only deletes the photo from the album. However, It does not remove the photo completely.

Conclusion:

Here’s a complete review of Shared Album. Have you ever give it a try? Let us know in the comments section below!

Also Read:

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *